Have you had your license suspended? Have you been ordered to get an assessment by a court, Secretary of State, or your attorney?
Driver’s License Restoration
As a Michigan driver, the possibility of having your driver license revoked or suspended is a daunting one, however there are ways to make license reinstatement a smoother process. CARE of Southeastern Michigan offers a variety of assessments to help you obtain a license restoration and meet other legal obligations as requested by the Secretary of State, Circuit Court, hearing officer, your attorney, or whomever has administrative oversight. Most driver license hearing requests in Michigan require a substance use evaluation to consider restoring one’s license. The requirements for out-of-state drivers may differ.
CARE can help you get you the assessments you need and get your license back so you can get back on the road legally.
The assessments available from CARE are:
Department of Transportation: Those with a Michigan driver’s license who have failed a Department of Transportation (DOT) drug test will need an assessment conducted by a qualified Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) if seeking a license reinstatement. The fee for this evaluation is $400. If an individual works for a WorkLife Solutions contracted company however, the fee for the assessment may be waived. In addition, the Department of Transportation Federal Office of Drug and Alcohol Policy & Compliance sets the guidelines for any training that may be required. CARE also provides training for DOT supervisors and drivers. For more information about DOT training and testing requirements, click here. [add link to DOT Trainings]
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Reinstatement: If you are a Michigan Driver who has been charged with Driving Under the Influence, an assessment may be required as a part of court litigation and/or license appeal when considering license restoration. CARE has Master’s level clinicians available to provide these substance abuse assessments. The fee for this evaluation is $225.
Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL): For first time offenders in Michigan who have been charged with OUIL, CARE’s Master’s level clinicians are available to provide substance use assessments. The fee for this evaluation is $225.
Secretary of State (SOS): For those who have committed two or more drug or alcohol related driving offenses, Michigan’s Secretary of State will require a substance use assessment as a part of the Driver’s License Hearing Request before considering license reinstatement. Master’s level clinicians are available to provide this assessment to Michigan drivers for a fee of $225. You will need to provide the results of a 10 panel drug screen. CARE can provide a referral for this service if needed.
If you are represented by an attorney, be sure to consult him or her regarding these possible courses of action. Also, there may be driver responsibility fees or reinstatement fees required by the Circuit Court hearing officer in addition to CARE’s assessment fees.